Comet 67P Fires Up Its Jets


These photos of Comet 67P are so spectacular they take my breath away!

Visit the original post at Lights in the Dark for larger images.

The nucleus of comet 67P/C-G as seen by Rosetta on Jan. 31(L) and Feb. 3 (R), 2015. Credits: ESA/Rosetta/NAVCAM – CC BY-SA IGO 3.0. Edited by Jason Major.

Lights in the Dark

The nucleus of comet 67P/C-G as seen by Rosetta on Jan. 31(L) and Feb. 3 (R), 2015. Credits: ESA/Rosetta/NAVCAM – CC BY-SA IGO 3.0. Edited by Jason Major.The nucleus of comet 67P/C-G as seen by Rosetta on Jan. 31(L) and Feb. 3 (R), 2015. Credits: ESA/Rosetta/NAVCAM – CC BY-SA IGO 3.0. Edited by Jason Major.

And the show is on! The dramatic images above show the actively jetting comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko on Jan. 31 and Feb. 3, imaged by Rosetta’s NavCam from a distance of about 28 km (17 miles). Each is a mosaic of four separate NavCam acquisitions, and I adjusted and tinted them in Photoshop to further enhance the jets’ visibility. (You can view the original image mosaics here and here.)

The small bright spots and flecks in the images are bits of icy debris and dust that have been ejected from the comet. In the second image you can see what looks like deflection of the jets from the comet’s lower lobe off the underside of the upper lobe as well as a shadow of the…

View original post 68 more words

5 thoughts on “Comet 67P Fires Up Its Jets

    • Thanks for stopping by Jason.

      It’s been a rough year so far (2 deaths and several serious illnesses in the family). All these thing out of our control, so we cope as best as we can. Not much time for creative work or blogging. Just trying to take care of family, go to work and keep my sanity.

      Hopefully things will settle down soon.

      I hope all is well with you and your family. Wishing you the best!

      Very Best Regards,
      Eric

      Liked by 1 person

        • Thanks so much, Jason.

          More of the same unfortunately. Mostly health issues…some better, some worse. My wife and I are still employed despite all this so that’s a great blessing! I’ve lost my eyesight in one eye and that kind of spooked me for a while. I’m learning to live with it and have even been drawing and writing a bit in recent months. I’ve got a great support network so I expect to be back to creating soon.

          I’ve visited your new website and it looks great. As always, I wish you the best of luck in all your endeavors.
          I don’t check this blog very often anymore so if you wish to contact me you can do so at egehlin@hotmail.com

          Thanks again for reaching out!!

          Best Regards,
          Eric

          Like

Leave a Comment

