The Coming Post-Apocalypse (or How Would You Destroy The Earth?)


The Blast Furnace

The Blast Furnace by Eric A. Gehlin
(click on image for larger view)

Ok, I’m going to come out and say it for the world to know.

1. I’m writing a series of post-apocalyptic novels.

2. I’ve written an alternate history, decided on the events and nature of my apocalypse and all the players are in their places. I’m writing the first two novels together because the events in these opening installments are so intertwined that they will set the stage for rest of the series.

3. I’ve decided that my apocalypse will be a catastrophic act of nature with some man-made mini-disasters thrown into the mix to make it really interesting. I’m not saying exactly what it is for now but I’ll formally announce the series in the next few weeks when I have some concept art to share with you.

Some have argued that the genre of the post-apocalypse has been done to death. That its potential to surprise and thrill has been exhausted. Well, I wouldn’t be tackling it if I wasn’t convinced that I had a strong concept that will intrigue and entertain my readers.

So I’d like to know what you would do if you decided to write a post-apocalyptic novel. Which type of apocalypse would you choose?

Natural Catastrophe: An asteroid collides with the Earth(or maybe the moon). A monster solar flare fries the atmosphere. Tidal waves, volcanoes, global warming (or cooling)…

Man-Made Disaster: Atomic war. Disease. Disease that creates undead zombies (ugh!!). Maybe an atomic war that creates a race of mutant zombies (double ugh!!!). A technological disaster. Industrial pollution that causes global warming (or cooling). How about an invasion from outer space? Ok, that last one wasn’t man-made but I didn’t know where to put it.

A Combination of Both: Asteroid collides with Earth causing a mass extinction with tidal waves and earthquakes. The survivors clash, causing an atomic war that creates a race of mutated zombies(ugh!) which are then invaded by aliens from outer space.

I’m having a bit of fun here and I want you to join in.

If you had the chance, what would be your favorite disaster for a post-apocalyptic world.

Don’t be shy. Leave a comment and share your ideas!!!

Regards,

Eric

8 thoughts on “The Coming Post-Apocalypse (or How Would You Destroy The Earth?)

  1. I think I like your idea about the catastrophic act of nature thrown in together with the man made mini disaster. I think the impact of a punch by nature would really throw any plans of man out the window if it wanted to, so to tackle that with the emotional aspect of how it affects the humans would also be interesting…I am excited to see where you take it and how it turns out once you finish :). Good luck! ~ Neha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Why thank you so much.

      Since these novels will include a mix of words and illustrations the approach will be a bit different and hopefully an exciting experience for my readers.

      Stay tuned to the blog. I’ll be officially announcing the series and sharing some concept art in a few weeks.

      Regards,
      Eric

      Like

  2. Okay, I am officially hooked. I love post apocalyptic stories!

    I’m not a huge fan of zombie stuff, although if it is done well, I’ll enjoy it.

    I recently watched a movie called, The Colony. It was based on a man-made disaster. I believe it was global warming. It was a good movie (nothing award winning), in the sense it really made one think how humans would survive if the entire world was covered in snow/ice. Scary, really.

    I think if I was going to kill off the planet, it would be done by the human hand. We humans are far too full of ourselves and need to be taken down a few notches. If the world went through something devastating, caused by humans, I think (or hope) it would humble us in some way. Perhaps then, future generations could learn from our mistakes.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comments, Carrie.

      I’m afraid I’m more cynical regarding mankind’s ego. Why does man feel he can enslave nations or affect the environment on anything greater than a local level? When I hear talk about man-made GLOBAL climate change I shake my head. We can’t turn back or control a hurricane, prevent an earthquake or accurately predict the weather for more that a day or two out. Nature always trumps man…always will.

      I wish that I could believe that mankind could be humbled by a world disaster, man-made or otherwise.. We’ve had a few disasters in recent years that could fit the worldwide bill; the tsunamis in southeast Asia and Japan and the Chernobyl and Fukushima disasters come to mind. But we continue on with our petty squabbles as if nothing has happened and mankind continues to repeat its mistakes.

      The Berlin wall fell and the Soviet Union collapsed under it’s own weight. But Russia again flexes its military muscle in an effort to reclaim what it lost and diplomats on both sides repeat the same mistakes that preceded World War 2. The cycle continues…

      I’m encouraged that you’re more optimistic than I am. I’d like to be proven wrong…I really do. We desperately need more optimists in the world, especially now.

      I’m glad you chose to participate in this discussion.

      Best Regards.
      Eric

      Like

  3. Seeing as how I’m obsessed with parasites I think I’d do something along those lines. An extreme worldwide parasitic outbreak!!! Ooooo or rabies! Why am I so excited!?

    I’m so excited about your upcoming novel though. It’s going to be amazing!

    Like

Leave a Comment

