Creating On A Limited Budget Part 1 of 5


Hey!

Does this sound familiar?

You’re working a 9 to 5 job. You come home, shove some food into your mouth, hug your wife, significant other or your pet (whatever fits your situation), lock yourself in your private workspace and spend the night working on your creative masterpiece.  Sometime around midnight, you drag yourself into bed , wake up the next morning and do it all over again.

You worry about paying the rent, the utilities, buying groceries, putting gas in the car and all those endless bills that come in the mail.

Through all of this you say “Gee, I wish I had a more powerful computer…updated software…better tools to create my masterpieces.”  But there’s little or no cash left after the necessities are paid for.

We’ve all been there at one time or another. Perhaps you’re there right now…I am for the third time in my 58 years (that’s right, I’m 58!).

So how do you do it? How can you create on a limited budget?

Truth is, there are many affordable and even free programs out there that can help you to produce professional quality work without breaking the bank.

In the first installment of this series, I’m providing a list of programs that won’t empty your pocketbook.

The second part of this series will focus on the programs I’m currently using and why they fit into my visual storytelling process.

In the third, fourth and fifth parts I’ll bring it all together by demonstrating how I use some of these programs in my work.

You’ll notice I’ve included the CorelDraw suite of programs in the list. The CorelDraw x6 suite is $499.00 ($199.00 if an upgrade).  I’ve used CorelDraw since Version 1. I’m currently using CorelDraw x4 and it’s my workhorse program.  It’s also about half the price of Photoshop and as much as I like Photoshop, CorelDraw can’t be beat for price and ease of use.  There are some of you who may try to argue this point with me but it would be futile…my mind is made up.

I’ll be back in a day or two with Part 2 of Creating On A  Limited Budget.

Regards,

Eric

3D Programs

Bryce 7 Pro (Daz 3D) -$19.95

Daz Studio Pro (Daz 3D)-free with sign-up and registration to Daz website

Blender 3D-freeware

Mandelbulber (a 3D fractal generator)-freeware

Digital Paint and Graphics Programs

ArtRage 4 -$49.00

Corel PhotoPaint (Corel Corp-included in the CorelDraw Suite)-$499.00 ($199.00 upgrade price)

Plug-in Programs

Lunar Cell (Flaming Pear Plug-ins)-$29.00

Glitterato (Flaming Pear Plug-ins)-$29.00

Solar Cell (Flaming Pear Plug-ins)-$29.00

Flaming Pear Space Bundle (includes Lunar Cell, Glitterato and Solar Cell) -$59.00

Universe Image Creator Stand Alone(Diard Software)-$24.95

Universe Image Creator Plug-in(Planet Edition-Diard Software)-$39.95

Vector Art Programs

Inkscape-freeware

Alchemy: An Open Drawing Project-freeware

CorelDraw (Corel Corp-included in the CorelDraw Suite)-$499.00 ($199.00 upgrade price)

2 thoughts on “Creating On A Limited Budget Part 1 of 5

Leave a Comment

